Free Choice / Conceptual Photography | Nominee

Nina Röder

Berlin / DE www.ninaroeder.de

wenn du gehen musst willst du doch auch bleiben

Concept

In 2017, both my grandparents, Franz and Theresia Protschka, passed away. Both were around 90 years old. As refugees from the former Sudetenland and grown up in the war generation, they both kept everything and threw almost nothing away their whole lives. The house where they lived for more than half a century after seeking refuge in Windsbach, Franconia, served as the nucleus for our family.

After the death of my grandparents, my mother, Dagmar, my cousin, Laura, and I cleaned the house before it was sold. This photo series was taken during the process of sorting their belongings according to sentimental value, and deciding whether they would be kept, donated or thrown away. This piece not only examines the aesthetic pluralism of my grandparents’ collected belongings, but also shows a possible approach to dealing with loss, grief and memory, using the stylistic device of absurdity.

The work was created in analogue medium format.

Vita

Nina Röder, born 1983 in Neuendettelsau, Franconia, lives and works in Berlin and Hamburg.

She studied media design with a focus on photography at the Bauhaus University in Weimar, where she worked from 2012-2017 as an artistic assistant. Since autumn 2017 she has been professor for photography in the Art & Design Department at BTK Hamburg.

Her photographic works focus on hidden structures of biographical narratives, in which she combines aspects of theatre and performance with the temporal space of photography.

Nina Röder's series have been exhibited and awarded prizes at international exhibitions such as the Voies Off Festival in France, the Goa Photo Festival in India and the European Month of Photography in Berlin.

She is currently doing her doctorate at the Bauhaus University Weimar in the Ph.D.-by-project program on "Performative Strategies of Emergence in Contemporary Photography".

Nina Röder is represented by Galerie Burster in Berlin.

Freie / Konzeptionelle Fotografie | Nominiert

Nina Röder

Berlin / DE www.ninaroeder.de

wenn du gehen musst willst du doch auch bleiben

Konzept

Innerhalb des Jahres 2017 sind meine Großeltern Franz und Theresia Protschka gestorben. Beide waren um die 90 Jahre alt. Als sudetendeutsche Flüchtlinge und Teil der Kriegsgeneration haben die beiden ihr Leben lang alles aufgehoben und fast nichts weggeworfen. Ihr Haus im fränkischen Windsbach, in dem sie nach ihrer Flucht über ein halbes Jahrhundert lebten, fungierte für unsere Familie als Mittelpunkt.

Nach dem Tod meiner Großeltern haben meine Mutter Dagmar, meine Cousine Laura und ich das Haus ausgeräumt, bevor es verkauft wurde. Diese Fotoserie entstand während des Prozesses, Gegenstände nach Erinnerungswert zu sortieren und zu entscheiden, ob man sie behält oder spendet oder wegwirft. Diese Arbeit untersucht nicht nur die ästhetische Pluralität von gesammelten Objekten meiner Großeltern, sondern zeigt mit dem Stilmittel der Absurdität eine mögliche Herangehensweise, mit Verlust, Trauer und Erinnerung umzugehen.

Die Arbeit entstand im analogen Mittelformat.

Vita

Nina Röder, geboren 1983 im fränkischen Neuendettelsau, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Hamburg.

Sie studierte Mediengestaltung mit Schwerpunkt Fotografie an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, wo sie von 2012-2017 als künstlerische Mitarbeiterin tätig war. Seit Herbst 2017 ist sie Professorin für Fotografie im Fachbereich Art & Design an der BTK Hamburg.

Ihre fotografischen Arbeiten thematisieren verborgene Strukturen biografischer Narrationen, in welchen sie Aspekte des Theaters und des Performativen mit dem zeitlichen Raum der Fotografie verbindet.

Nina Röders Serien wurden in internationalen Ausstellungen wie dem Voies Off Festival in Frankreich, dem Goa Photo Festival in Indien oder dem Europäischen Monat der Fotografie in Berlin ausgestellt und prämiert.

Derzeit promoviert sie an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar im Ph.D.-by-project Studiengang zum Thema „Performative Strategien der Emergenz in der zeitgenössischen Fotografie.“

Nina Röder wird von der Galerie Burster in Berlin vertreten.