Fashion Photography | Nominee

Peter Franck

Stuttgart / DE http://peterfranck.de/

Table stories

Concept

In the here shown »fashion« shots neither the model nor the shown piece of clothing plays a special role. Some pictures are even completely without articles. The pictures should much more transport a feeling, a story which cumulates in the question of what that’s all about and who stands behind the shown picture.

Just as the models hide, the promotional purpose hides. Clothes and body are cut, the background merges with the foreground. Therein lies, so as in the narrative and humorous character, the tenor of the work. Elements from comics, films, art history and everyday life situations collide. Where just a real woman seemed to lay, the ground turns to be the pure color space, the girl under the table is reminiscent of Botticellis Venus, Batmans bride, Tattoos look like clothes and a dress becomes an ornamental pattern. Tables change into a painting surface. Humor plays a big role, humor and the freedom to tell absurd stories.

Vita

PF was born in Überlingen/ Germany. 1987 he started studying painting/grafics at the university of fine arts in Nürnberg. 1993 he finished his studys at the university of fine arts/ Stuttgart( Masterclass R.Schoofs).

After this he had his first contacts with photography over his brother who is also an photographer. With his from fine art paintings influenced photographys he took part at many exhibitions such as the Fotofestival Naarden, the photosommer Stuttgart, the Art Fair Cologne.

PF lives and works in Stuttgart/Germany

Modefotografie | Nominiert

Peter Franck

Stuttgart / DE http://peterfranck.de/

Table stories

Konzept

In den hier dargestellten „Mode“-Aufnahmen spielt weder das Model noch die abgebildete Kleidung eine besondere Rolle. Auf manchen Bildern sind nicht einmal Artikel zu sehen. Die Bilder sollen eher ein Gefühl transportieren, eine Geschichte, die in die Frage mündet, um was es bei all dem eigentlich geht und wer hinter dem gezeigten Bild steht.

So wie die Models sich verstecken, so versteckt sich auch der Werbezweck. Kleider und Körper sind abgeschnitten, und der Hintergrund verschmelzt mit dem Vordergrund. Darin sowie in dem erzählerischen und humoristischen Charakter liegt der Tenor der Arbeit. Hier prallen Elemente aus Comics, Film, Kunstgeschichte und Alltagssituationen aufeinander. Dort, wo scheinbar eine echte Frau lag, zeigt sich der Boden als reiner Farbbereich; das Mädchen unter dem Tisch erinnert an Botticellis Venus, Batmans Braut; Tattoos sehen aus wie Kleidung, und ein Kleid wird zu einem Ornamentmuster. Tische werden zu Malflächen. Humor spielt eine große Rolle – Humor und die Freiheit, absurde Geschichten zu erzählen.

Vita

PF wurde in Überlingen/Deutschland geboren. 1987 begann er sein Studium der Malerei/Grafik an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Nürnberg. 1993 beendete er sein Studium an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Stuttgart (Meisterklasse R. Schoofs).

Danach hatte er seine ersten Kontakte mit der Fotografie über seinen Bruder, der auch Fotograf ist. Mit seinen von der bildenden Kunst beeinflussten Fotografien nahm er an vielen Ausstellungen wie dem Fotofestival Naarden, dem Photosommer Stuttgart, der Kunstmesse Köln teil.

PF lebt und arbeitet in Stuttgart/Deutschland.