Best Work by an Emerging Photographer | Nominee

Timo Tomkel

Lage / DE

Tiny Room

Concept

The »Tiny Room« photo series addresses a contemporary problem in our society: the housing shortage. I experienced for myself how difficult it can be to find a place to live, which gave impetus to this conceptual work.

The photos show what it is like to live in the smallest of spaces. Each picture contains multiples of a single item, reflecting the affluence of today’s society and the mass consumption of household objects – in contrast to the scarcity of living space. Initially, the seemingly perfect photos deceive the viewer with their minimalistic 70s style. Only a look at the last picture reveals the reality.

The chosen 70s style alludes to the time when the mass construction of apartment buildings had reached its peak and when, in contrast to today, the government was responding to the great demand for living space. The photos should not just reflect the problem, but should also be thought-provoking for the viewer. How much living space does one person actually need?

Photography: Timo Tomkel
Setdesign: Emily Kühn

Vita

Timo Tomkel was born in 1994 in Bielefeld, Germany.

Already at a young age he developed a strong connection to nature through the rural character of his homeland and his later work in a local environmental centre, which quickly aroused enthusiasm for landscape photography.

Already during his high school graduation and his subsequent studies in landscape architecture, he travelled all over Germany as a landscape and lifestyle photographer and worked together with Samsung and the Danish company Rains, among others.

Since 2018 his photography has developed strongly in the direction of conceptual works that primarily combine portraits and architecture.

In the same year he began training as a photographer in the field of product photography.

Beste Nachwuchsarbeit | Nominiert

Timo Tomkel

Lage / DE

Tiny Room

Konzept

Die Fotoserie „Tiny Room“ thematisiert ein gegenwärtiges Problem unserer Gesellschaft: Wohnraumknappheit. Wie schwer die Wohnungssuche sein kann, habe ich selbst erfahren und gab den Anstoß zu dieser konzeptionellen Arbeit.

Die Fotos zeigen das Wohnen auf kleinstem Raum. Jedes Bild beinhaltet einen Gegenstand mehrfach in Bezug auf den Überfluss und den Massenkonsum an Haushaltsgegenständen, die im Widerspruch zum wenig verfügbaren Wohnraum stehen. Scheinbar perfekt wirken die Fotos im minimalistischen Stil der 70er Jahre und täuschen den Betrachter zunächst. Erst der Blick auf das letzte Foto enthüllt die Wirklichkeit.

Der gewählte 70er Jahre Stil spielt auf die Zeit an, in welcher der Plattenbau seinen Höhepunkt erreichte und die Regierung, im Gegensatz zu heute, auf die große Nachfrage nach Wohnraum reagierte. Die Fotos sollen nicht nur das Problem widerspiegeln, sondern auch den Betrachter zum Nachdenken anregen: Wie viel Wohnraum benötigt man tatsächlich zum Leben?

Vita

Timo Tomkel wurde 1994 in Bielefeld, Deutschland, geboren.

Bereits in jungen Jahren entwickelte er durch den ländlich geprägten Charakter seiner Heimat und die spätere Tätigkeit in einem lokalen Umweltzentrum einen starken Bezug zur Natur, der schnell Begeisterung für die Landschaftsfotografie weckte.

Schon während seines Abiturs und dem danach begonnen Studiums der Landschaftsarchitektur, reiste er als Landschafts- und Lifestyle Fotograf kreuz und quer durch Deutschland und arbeitete unter anderem mit Samsung und dem dänischen Unternehmen Rains zusammen.

Seit 2018 entwickelt sich seine Fotografie stark in Richtung konzeptioneller Arbeiten, die vor allem Portraits und Architektur miteinander verbinden.

Im selben Jahr begann er eine Ausbildung zum Fotografen im Bereich der Produktfotografie.