Free Choice / Conceptual Photography | Winner

Sarah Tröster

Asperg / DE www.ts-studio.de

Garbage Project

Concept

The garbage project was created in 2018 with the intention of drawing attention to the constantly growing problem of waste and pollution, through artistic expression. Famous women in history are pictured in their legendary outfits. What makes it so special is that their costumes are made out of garbage. It is not only important that the message is understood, but that it is implemented in an aesthetic way that appeals to many viewers and encourages them to think. The costumes were produced by musician Alice Francis. She collected garbage that she found in nature as well as garbage that had accumulated in her own household in a short time. Moreover, Alice Francis herself embodies the respective characters in the pictures. Sarah Tröster is responsible for the photography and editing.

As we are depicting women from previous decades, we decided to use a vintage look for the photos.

Vita

Sarah Tröster was born in Stuttgart in 1982. As the daughter of a photographer, she came into contact with the subject as a young girl. She knew at an early age that she wanted to work in the artistic field.

From 2002 to 2003 she attended a photography school in Dublin, Ireland. This was followed by a school education as a graphic designer in Stuttgart. After her training Sarah worked as an employed photographer for three and a half years before she became self-employed as a photo artist in December 2011.

Her work has already been shown in two group exhibitions and several solo exhibitions. Furthermore, some of her works have been published in books and magazines internationally. Many of her works are in vintage style.

Since 2018 she has been working on a joint project with the musician Alice Francis. The Garbage Project, through which they want to draw attention to the ever-increasing waste problem and the resulting environmental pollution. It is planned to create 12 motifs within the project, which will be published as a calendar in autumn 2019. Part of the proceeds from the calendar sale will be donated to an environmental organisation.

Jury Statement

At first glance, Sarah Tröster presents us with a series of style icons from the 30s and 40s of the 20th century - pictures familiar to us from the era of Josephine Baker. Photographically realized in a vintage look, the works play with the delusion of the viewer's senses, who only learns at second glance that the clothing was made from garbage. Tröster counteracts the past beauty with our behavior in the throwaway society of the present.

The work ‚Garbage Project’ is an artistically outstanding accusation against our relentless consumer behavior and an intellectual call to carefully deal with our future.

Freie / Konzeptionelle Fotografie | Preisträgerin

Sarah Tröster

Asperg / DE www.ts-studio.de

Garbage Project

Konzept

Das Garbage Project entstand im Jahr 2018 mit der Absicht, durch eine künstlerische Umsetzung auf das stetig anwachsende Müllproblem/ Umweltverschmutzung aufmerksam zu machen. Es werden berühmte Frauen der Historie in ihren legendären Outfits dargestellt. Das Besondere dabei ist, dass die Kostüme aus Müll gemacht sind. Wichtig dabei ist, dass die Botschaft verstanden, aber auf eine ästhetische Art umgesetzt wird, die viele Betrachter anspricht und zum Nachdenken anregt. Die Kostüme werden von der Musikerin Alice Francis hergestellt. Dafür sammelt sie sowohl verschiedenen Müll, den sie in der Natur findet, als auch Müll, der sich im eigenen Haushalt in kurzer Zeit ansammelt. Außerdem verkörpert Alice Francis selbst die jeweiligen Charaktere in den Bildern. Für die Fotografien und die Nachbearbeitung ist Sarah Tröster verantwortlich.

Da wir viele Frauen aus vorherigen Jahrzehnten darstellen, haben wir uns bei den Fotos für einen Vintage Look entschieden.

Vita

Sarah Tröster wurde im Jahre 1982 in Stuttgart geboren. Als Tochter eines Fotografen ist sie schon in jungen Jahren mit der Materie in Berührung gekommen. Schon früh wusste sie, dass sie im künstlerischen Bereich tätig sein möchte.

In den Jahren 2002 bis 2003 hat sie eine Foto-Schule in Dublin, Irland besucht. Daraufhin folgte eine schulische Ausbildung zur Grafik-Designerin in Stuttgart. Nach der Ausbildung arbeitete Sarah dreieinhalb Jahre als angestellte Fotografin, bevor sie sich im Dezember 2011 dann als Foto-Künstlerin selbständig machte. Ihre arbeiten wurden bereits in zwei Gruppenausstellungen sowie einigen Einzelausstellungen gezeigt. Außerdem wurden einige ihrer Arbeiten in Büchern und Magazinen international veröffentlicht. Viele ihre Arbeiten sind im Vintage Bereich angesiedelt.

Seit 2018 arbeitet sie mit der Musikerin Alice Francis an einem gemeinsamen Projekt. Das Garbage Project, durch das die beiden auf das stetig ansteigende Müllproblem und die daraus entstehende Umweltverschmutzung aufmerksam machen möchten. Geplant ist, dass innerhalb des Projekts 12 Motive entstehen, die im Herbst 2019 als Kalender veröffentlicht werden sollen. Ein Teil der Erlöse aus dem Kalenderverkauf soll an eine Umweltorganisation gespendet werden.

Jury Statement

Auf den ersten Blick präsentiert uns Sarah Tröster eine Serie von Stilikonen der 30er und 40er Jahre - uns vertraute Bilder aus der Ära von Josephine Baker. Fotografisch im Vintage-Look umgesetzt, spielen die Arbeiten mit der Sinnestäuschung des Betrachters, der erst über den zweiten Blick erfährt, dass die Kleidung aus Abfall erstellt worden ist. Tröster konterkariert die vergangene Schönheit mit unserem Verhalten in der Wegwerfgesellschaft der Gegenwart.

Die Arbeit „Garbage Project“ ist eine künstlerisch herausragende Anklage gegen unser gnadenloses Konsumverhalten und ein intellektueller Aufruf zum sorgsamen Umgang mit unserer Zukunft.